It was a great relief to get the race on after the recent bad weather. The very high winds made conditions challenging for the runners and even more so for the fantastic volunteers, out on the course, who stoically braved the elements. An impressive field of 88 runners, both first timers and experienced fell runners, set out into the wind on a chilly morning with 5 miles and 1500ft of ascent ahead of them. Conditions underfoot were wet and boggy and the recent snow and ice had melted in the couple of hours before the start.

Craig Jones (39:59) Northumberland Fell Runners managed to go one better than last year and came in first, 10 seconds ahead of his older brother Mick (40:09) and followed in 3rd place by Jonathon Graham (40:50). The race might well have had a tighter finish had the leader at the halfway joint not gone the wrong way, thankfully he found his back safely. Most of the times were down a couple of minutes from last year reflecting on the more challenging conditions.

In the women's race Catriona MacDonald of Morpeth Harriers was first to cross the line in an excellent time of 47:36 followed by Karen Robertson Northumberland Fell Runners (50:15) just ahead of last years runner up Katherine Davis, North Shields Poly (50:33). Catriona's winning achievement was even more impressive given that she had been competing at Loughborough the day before in the UK Inter Counties Cross Country Championships.

All in all, a very successful day, with special thanks to Jane Briggs as joint race organiser and in particular to all of the volunteers, family and supporters for making it all possible. Thanks to the Northumberland National Park for the use of their office and facilities and especially to land owner Ross Wilson.

Proceeds of £440 were raised from the race and going to Northumberland National Park Mountain Rescue Team.

NFR results							
1	Craig Jones	MSEN	00:39:59				
4	Richie Hughes	MSEN	00:42:56				
9	Joe Stringer	MSEN	00:43:28				
12	Lee Cuthbertson	MSEN	00:47:02				
14	Lee Bennett	M50	00:47:31	1 st MV50			
21	John Rippon	M50	00:49:02				
28	Karen Robertson	W50	00:50:00	Winner and 1 st W50			
29	Chris Eggert	M50	00:50:24				
37	Richard Garland	M40	00:52:48				
40	Paul Appleby	M60	00:53:24				
45	David John Felden	MSEN	00:55:05				
46	John Tollitt	M50	00:55:42				
59	Ross Robertson	M40	00:57:55				
73	Bernard Kivlehan	M60	01:03:56				
77	Jon Punshon	M60	01:06:54				
79	Mark Latham	M60	01:07:03				
86	Peter Reed	M70	01:11:57	1 st M70			

Brough Law fell race – 12 March 2023							
1	Craig Jones	MSEN	NFR	00:39:59			
2	Mick Jones	M40	Unattached	00:40:09			
3	Jonathon Graham	MSEN	Unattached	00:40:50			
4	Richie Hughes	MSEN	NFR	00:42:56			
5	Johnny Malley	MSEN	Ambleside	00:42:59			
6	Hamish Owen Carrick	MSEN	Durham Fell Runners	00:43:13			
7	Andrew Cox	M40	Moorfoot Runners	00:43:26			
8	Michael Scott	M40	Blyth Running Club	00:43:28			
9	Joe Stringer	MSEN	NFR	00:43:28			
10	Daniel Lavin	MSEN	Moorfoot Runners	00:43:37			
11	Neil Sillence	MU21	North Shields Poly	00:44:46			
12	Lee Cuthbertson	MSEN	NFR	00:47:02			
13	Jonathon Heaney	M40	North Shields Poly	00:47:10			
14	Lee Bennett	M50	NFR	00:47:31			
15	Catriona Macdonald	WSEN	Morpeth Harriers	00:47:36			
16	Jamie Thomas	M40	Dunbar Athletics Club	00:48:09			
17	Seb Bufton	M40	Saltwell	00:48:10			
18	Phillip Vincent	M40	Tynedale	00:48:26			
19	Vaughan Hemy	M50	North Shields Poly	00:48:55			
20	Simon Long	M40	Unattached	00:48:20			
21	John Rippon	M50	NFR	00:49:02			
22	Tim Mccall	M60	Norham Running Club	00:49:19			
23	Ally Macdonald	M50	Morpeth Harriers	00:49:28			
24	Andy Green	M50	Tynedale Harriers And Ac	00:49:29			
25	Joseph Green	MU23	Tynedale Harriers And Ac	00:49:38			
26	Andrew Phizacklea	MSEN	Unattached	00:49:43			
27	Keith Geldert	M50	Alnwick Harriers	00:50:15			
28	Karen Robertson	W50	NFR	00:50:00			
29	Chris Eggert	M50	NFR	00:50:24			
30	James Johnson	M40	Morpeth Harriers	00:50:31			
31	Katherine Davis	W50	North Shields Poly	00:50:33			
32	William Place	MSEN	Cheviot Trail Runners	00:50:41			
33	Mark Rutter	MSEN	Unattached	00:50:43			
34	Richard Houghton	M40	Elswick Harriers	00:50:50			
35	Richard Blackburn	M40	Unattached	00:52:26			
36	Adrian Wilson	M50	Sunderland Strollers	00:52:42			
37	Richard Garland	M40	NFR	00:52:48			
38	Jason Wall	M40	Heaton	00:53:00			
39	Mike Winter	M50	Morpeth Harriers	00:53:21			
40	Paul Appleby	M60	NFR	00:53:24			
41	David Carrick	M50	Unattached	00:53:25			
42	Helen Heaney	W40	North Shields Poly	00:53:26			
43 44	lan Baxter	M50 M50	Blyth Unattached	00:53:27			
45	Brian Robson David John Felden	MSEN	NFR	00:53:30 00:55:05			
46	John Tollitt	M50	NFR	00:55:42			
46	Richard Kirby	M50	Morpeth Harriers	00:55:42			
47	Jane Kirby	W40	Morpeth Harriers	00:56:01			
49	Garry Hunter	M40	Unattached	00:56:19			
50	Neil Turnbull	M50	Norham Running Club	00:56:30			
51	Helen Gardiner	W40	North Shields Poly	00:56:38			
52	Barry Young	M60	North Shields Poly	00:56:44			
53	Richard Heslop	M40	Prudhoe Plodders	00:56:46			
	menara riesiop	14140	Traditioe Floaders	00.50.40			

54	Lilia Purvis	WU21	Alnwick Harriers	00:56:47
55	Glen Mcwilliams	M60	Cheviot Trail	00:56:58
56	Ellen Ward	WSEN	Unattached	00:56:59
57	Dominic Martin	M40	Saltwell Harriers	00:57:04
58	April Gladwin	WSEN	Unattached	00:57:27
59	Ross Robertson	M40	NFR	00:57:55
60	Emma Curtis	WSEN	Jesmond Joggers	00:58:15
61	Wendy Pawsey	W40	North Shields Poly	00:58:19
62	Mike Waring	M40	Ponteland Runners	00:59:23
63	Graeme Jobling	M40	Unattached	00:59:31
64	Norman Hindmarsh	M50	Ashington Hirst	01:00:22
65	Michael Binnie	MSEN	Norham	01:01:01
66	Jim Alder	M60	Unattached	01:01:28
67	Marie Drozdowicz	W60	Unattached	01:01:41
68	Helen Lilley	WSEN	North Shields Poly	01:01:54
69	David Henderson	M60	Alnwick	01:02:21
70	Rachel Inman	W40	North Shields Poly	01:03:06
71	Erica Stirrett	WSEN	Cheviot Trail	01:03:30
72	Timothy Broomfield	M60	Alnwick Harriers	01:03:40
73	Bernard Kivlehan	M60	NFR	01:03:56
74	Kevin Atwell	M60	Unattached	01:04:52
75	James Sunley	MSEN	Elswick Harriers	01:04:56
76	Les Bellis	M50	Heaton Harriers	01:06:22
77	Jon Punshon	M60	NFR	01:06:54
78	Jennifer Knight	W40	Alnwick Harriers	01:06:58
79	Mark Latham	M60	NFR	01:07:03
80	Steven Studley	M40	Alnwick Harriers	01:07:43
81	Phillip Doyle	M40	Unattached	01:09:39
82	Dan Moulsher	MSEN	Unattached	01:09:39
83	Andrea Simmons	WSEN	Ponteland	01:09:59
84	Scott Dewhurst	M40	Unattached	01:11:20
85	Melanie Clegg	W50	Alnwick Harriers	01:11:40
86	Peter Reed	M70	NFR	01:11:57
87	Millie Robertson	WU23	Unattached	01:13:32
88	Linda Patterson	W40	Alnwick Harriers	01:20:33