NFR report Brough Law 17 March 2024

A great turnout for NFR with 23 runners taking on the second championship race of the year. A total of 93 runners enjoyed good conditions albeit a bit boggy in places saw many NFR posting quicker times than last year. Chris Larkin, winner in 2020, was first NFR and first overall in the men's race with Michael Lumb and Joe Stronger third and fourth. A particular shout out must go to V60 John Tollitt who was only a minute outside his time from last year despite running for more the 6 hrs the day before in the 32 mile Tyne Bridges to Boundaries Ultra, very impressive!

In the women's race Nicola Duggan, unattached, was the first home in 47:39 with Nina Cameron first NFR back and second W50 in a time of 56:06 followed by Claire Bagness first W60 (56:29) and Gwenda Cavill 3rd W60 (61:34)

A successful safe race, with special thanks once again to Jane Briggs as joint race organiser and to all of the volunteers, family and supporters for making it all possible. Paul Appleby selflessly volunteered for Cochrane Pike and the injured Richard Kirby manfully marshalled at the top of Brough law. Thanks to the Northumberland National Park for the use of their office and facilities and especially to land owner Ross Wilson.

Proceeds of £470 were raised from the race and going to Northumberland National Park Mountain Rescue Team.

Chris Larkin	MSEN	37:40	1 st man overall
Michael Lumb	MSEN	40:55	
Joe Stringer	MSEN	41:02	
Roger Sillito	M40	44:27	
William Horsley	M40	44:55	
Richard Garland	M40	47:31	
John Rippon	M50	47:53	
Peter Storey	M40	49:46	
Peter Dawson	M40	49:48	
Chris Rowe	M40	49:54	
Chris Eggett	M50	50:48	
David Fielden	M40	51:23	
Gary Mason	M50	53:08	
Ross Robertson	M40	53:39	
Lee Bennett	M50	53:56	
Nina Cameron	W50	56:06	2 nd woman 50
Claire Bagness	W60	56:29	1 st woman 60
John Tollitt	M60	56:53	2 nd man 60
Stuart Ferguson	M60	57:35	
Chris Milne	M40	58:42	
Bernard Kivlehan	M60	60:58	
Gwenda Cavill	W60	61:34	3 rd woman 60
Mark Latham	M60	65:46	

Previous winners

Year	Men		Women		Runners
2024	Chris Larkin	37:40	Nicola Duggan	47:39	93
2023	Craig Jones	39:59	Catriona Mcdonald	47:36	88
2022	William Robson	38:25	Alison Dargie	46:02	89
2021	Chris Axon	40:14	Claire Bagness	53:45	40
2020	Chris Larkin	37:23	Gemma Bradley	46:12	120
2019	Callum Hanson	37:08	Robyn Bennett	44:40	145
2018	Matthew Briggs	38:49	Robyn Bennett	45:46	154
2017	Chris Edis	42:10	Kathryn Davis	46:26	167
2016	Lee Bennett	37:45	Karen Robertson	44:13	82
2015	David Beech	38:20	Emma Bain	44:00	115
2014	Ewan Brown	37:32	Karen Robertson	45:07	121
2013	Gavin Bland	36:44	Lorna Young	49:00	62
2012	Philip Sanderson	37:39	Fiona Blackett*	40:38	74
2011	Philip Sanderson*	36:08	Karen Robertson	44:11	73
2010	Philip Sanderson	37:52	Karen Robertson	43:56	67
2009	Phil Horsley	36:38	Claire Bagness	48:35	47
2008	Ken Maynard	42:00	Karen Robertson	45:00	37
2007	W Horsley	38:30	V Oldham	41:47	45
2006	W Horsley	39:58	V Oldham	43:12	56
2005	Nick Swinburne	37:54	S Mitchell	46:33	54
2004	S Birkinshaw	37:49	Karen Robertson	44:03	52
2003	M Donnelly	37:05	Karen Robertson	43:32	51
2002	D Wood	33:34	J Saul	45:27	40

^{*}Course record

Brough Law fell race – 17 March 2024 - Men					
1	Chris Larkin	MSEN	NFR	37:40	
2	Jonathan Graham	M40	Unattached	39:43	
3	Michael Lumb	MSEN	NFR	40:55	
4	Joe Stringer	MSEN	NFR	41:02	
5	Andrew Armin	MSEN	Saltwell	41:03	
6	John Butters	M40	Morpeth Harriers	42:35	
7	Will Lloyd	MSEN	Tynedale	42:55	
8	Mark Duggan	MSEN	Unattached	43:36	
9	Tom Hamilton	MSEN	Elvet Striders	43:37	
10	Stephen Smithies	M50	Calder Valley	44:02	
11	Roger Sillito	M40	NFR	44:27	
12	Ruari Macneil	MSEN	Carnethy	44:30	
13	Phil Vincent	M50	Tynedale	44:44	
14	William Horsley	M40	NFR	44:55	
15	Stephen Ireland	M40	Unattached	45:56	

			1	
16	Andrew Phizacklea	M40	Unattached	46:04
17	Laurie Johnson	MSEN	Claremont Road	46:10
18	Thomas Brownsort	MU23	Unattached	46:40
19	Vaughan Hemy	M50	North Shields Poly	47:19
20	Barry Huiston	M40	Saltwell	47:22
21	Richard Garland	M40	NFR	47:31
22	Joe Taylor	MSEN	Unattached	47:36
23	lain Goff	M40	South Shields	47:40
24	John Rippon	M50	NFR	47:53
25	John Phizacklea	M50	Unattached	48:43
26	Mike Winter	M50	Unattached	48:55
27	Joshua Nicholson	MU23	Unattached	49:27
28	Steve Haswell	M50	Morpeth Harriers	49:31
29	Peter Storey	M40	NFR	49:46
30	Peter Dawson	M40	NFR	49:48
31	Peter Barker	MSEN	Unattached	49:52
32	Chris Rowe	M40	NFR	49:54
33	Chris Eggett	M50	NFR	50:48
34	lan Baxter	M50	Blyth	51:17
35	David Fielden	M40	NFR	51:23
36	Ben Hall	M40	Elswick	51:31
37	Arran Lee Stephenson	M40	Ponteland	52:06
38	Brian Robson	M50	Unattached	52:45
39	Gary Mason	M50	NFR	53:08
40	James Sunley	MSEN	Elswick	53:16
41	Paul Simmons	MSEN	North Shields Poly	53:25
42	Ross Robertson	M40	NFR	53:39
43	Dominic Martin	M40	Saltwell	53:46
44	Lee Bennett	M50	NFR	53:56
45	Robert Abel	MU23	Unattached	54:26
46	Joe Eggett	MU21	Unattached	55:48
47	Paul Doxford	M60	South Shields	55:50
48	Sebastian Merricks	MU23	Unattached	55:53
49	Andrew Squires	M60	Alnwick	56:32
50	John Tollitt	M60	NFR	56:53
51	Stuart Ferguson	M60	NFR	57:35
52	Oliver Oldham	MU21	Unattached	58:26
53	Chris Milne	M40	NFR	58:42
54	Barry Young	M60	North Shields Poly	59:02
55	Bernard Kivlehan	M60	NFR	60:58
56	Jim Lloyd	M60	Unattached	62:28
57	Phillip Herbert	MSEN	Unattached	62:32
58	Glen Mcwilliams	M60	Cheviot Trail	65:15
59	Mark Latham	M60	NFR	65:46
60	Marc Oldham	M40	North Shields Poly	66:21

61	Malcolm Coleman	M40	North Shields Poly	67:13
62	Ed Lloyd	MSEN	Unattached	69:52
63	Terence Mullen	M60	FRA	77:38
64	Ian Holland	M70	North Shields Poly	77:43
65	Steve Williams	M60	Coalfields Tri Club	92:26

	Brough Law fell race – 17 March 2024 - Women					
1	Nicola Duggan	WSEN	Unattached	47:39		
2	Jackie Murdy	W50	South Shields	48:59		
3	Helen Heaney	W40	North Shields Poly	51:07		
4	Fran Dembele	W40	South Shields	51:50		
5	Robyn Bennett	WSEN	Morpeth Harriers	53:54		
6	April Gladwin	WSEN	Unattached	54:42		
7	Lilia Purvis	WU21	Alnwick	55:17		
8	Nina Cameron	W50	NFR	56:06		
9	Kellie Campbell	W40	South Shields	56:13		
10	Claire Bagness	W60	NFR	56:29		
11	Emma Burke	WSEN	Unattached	57:52		
12	Marie Drozdovicz	W60	Unattached	59:58		
13	Helen Lilley	WSEN	North Shields Poly	60:59		
14	Gwenda Cavill	W60	NFR	61:34		
15	Caroline Harding	W50	Pudsey And Bramley	61:39		
16	Rachel Inman	M40	North Shields Poly	62:31		
17	Carol Cervanal	W60	Unattached	63:00		
18	Sharon Cook	W40	Heaton	64:20		
19	Melissa Beattie	WSEN	Ponteland	65:13		
20	Sara Mcknight	W50	Saltwell	65:52		
21	Jessie Hetherington	WSEN	Heaton	67:44		
22	Morag Grierson	WSEN	Unattached	69:15		
23	Linda Patterson	W40	Alnwick	70:10		
24	Jennifer Knight	W40	Alnwick	70:12		
25	Heidi Finlay	W40	Ponteland	76:41		
26	Heather Wells	W40	Saltwell	91:43		
27	Lisa Irvine	W40	Coalfields Tri Club	92:23		
28	Anna Race	WSEN	Coalfields Tri Club	92:30		